This Storytelling Animal

“To be the subject of a narrative that runs from one’s birth to one’s death is… to be accountable for the actions and experiences which compose a narratable life” – Alasdair MacIntyre

The significance of this quote is fairly simple; each individual is accountable for what they do throughout the course of their lives. Each action and interaction affects us and develops us as people. Even if these interactions are forgotten, they are still part of our development as individuals. Even if these actions are far different than what we would do now as people, they are still part of our “story” and are still part of who we identify as.

This particular quote definitely spoke to me. In my sophomore year of high school, I was often really rude, inconsiderate, lazy, and just overall not a very great person. I distinctly remember getting into arguments with classmates, saying some rather mean and sometimes twisted things, and having easily avoidable drama. None of these interactions were threatening by any means, they just were not considerate of the other persons feelings. This changed rather rapidly when I had a long discussion with my AP World History teacher; I had come in after school to take a midterm that I had missed. After completing the exam I spoke with my teacher as he graded it (the conversation began because I had very clearly failed that midterm, resulting a D in the class) and he spoke to me about my actions in class. He noticed I would flip often when interacting with students verses interacting with adults/teachers. I would speak to teachers with incredible kindness and respect, but for students I would occasionally be very rude. I had never really thought about how my actions could affect other people.

Shortly after this meeting I changed very rapidly, I became less talkative (which, in this case, is an incredibly good thing), much more respectful and considerate person. My grades also quickly improved (I went from a low-near failing D to the following semester earning a high B in AP World) While my closer friends will say I still have a “meaner” sense of humor, they also are aware that it is all in good fun, and that nothing “mean” I say is really with intent of being mean.

However, while I do take full accountability for my actions prior to that meeting, I also constantly say that I am a different person than I once was. While untrue, as I agree with MacIntyre that I am still that same person and the unity of my recollecting stories is what makes me me, it makes explaining the shift much easier. I like to believe I would not be the inconsiderate person I was, but I know I am.

I feel me being that inconsiderate person then was actually good for me as a person now; it was good for my story. It helped me develop as a person. It allowed me to look broader than myself and see that what I do affects other people.

Words: 510

Leave a comment