My Actions: Their Contribution to Me

What am I doing today that contributes to who I am/want to be?

Like everyone else taking this course, I am in college to get a higher education and figure out what I’m doing with my life. I am undeclared, however as this semester has gone on I am leaning towards becoming a math major and pursing something with that. That’s part of why I am in community college rather than a CSU or UC; I have no idea what I want to do and I don’t want to spend that sort of money to not know what I want to do.

I have always taken pride in being a nerd; being a nerd is part of who I am as a person. I have always enjoyed learning and figuring out new things, understanding how things work, things of that nature. I’ve never taken the word “nerd” as an insult.

Which leads to the other major part of my life: Band. Seen throughout multiple blog posts. comments, and my about me page, band is an incredibly large part of my life. I enjoy playing music, and I enjoy teaching others how to play and perform. For a while now I have volunteered at Sam Brannan Middle School with their band program and have had an absolute blast doing it. Seeing the kids progress and grow has been incredibly fun. No, I have no intention of being a music teacher or anything of the sort. Not because being a teacher wouldn’t pay or anything like that, but because I feel pursing it as a career would take the lighthearted fun out of what I enjoy about band.

Like most I enjoy hanging out with my friends and while I don’t think that is necessarily “advancing” me forward in my life, it definitely makes life much easier and helps me develop as a social being. The one nice thing about having friends away at college is its allowed me to join multiple friend groups and meet a lot of new and interesting people.

While I don’t believe I am at an insanely crucial point in my life, there are many things I am doing now that are helping me progress towards my future.

Words: 372

Leave a comment